Requiem – in mourning of the death of a young man –

originally composed for clarinet ensemble

– Commission

Commissioned work for Okayama University Symphony Orchestra

– Premier

  • Date : 2004.12.11
  • Place : Okayama Symphony Hall
  • Cond. : Takashi Akiyama
  • Performed by : Okayama University Symphony Orchestra


– About the music

This music was originally composed for a clarinet orchestra to mourn the victims of the Great Hanshin-Awaji Earthquake in 1995. In 2004 a young member of one of the composers orchestras died, and the piece was remade in his memory. The composer infused his feelings into the music for people tested by tragedies.

  1. Disaster. Wood instruments express deep sadness, strong frustration and confusion of people in a sudden disaster.
  2. Grief. Strings and Wind instruments represent peoples sense of emptiness and despondency that comes after a loss.
  3. Dirge. A theme for departed souls is played repeatedly by strings.
  4. Recovery. Brass instruments play glorious fanfare for the courage of people who finally learn to overcome their sorrow.

Premired by the friends of the young man for whom this was arranged and replayed by the Hoshina Academy Chamber Orchestra after the Great East Japan Earthquake of 2011.

Japanese Title
Westean TitleRequiem - in mourning of the death of a young man -
Published fromHoshina Music Office
Original scoreHoshina Music Office
Performance time10:00
Level (1~5)4
Sound SampleContact Us
Availability from Hoshina Music OfficeRental Sheet Music
Price CategoryStandard Rental Price
JASRAC work code093-2528-0